27
Oct
11

A new job

Today I started a new job!  I am still a CNA, at a nursing home..but now, I am working at a different nursing home on a day shift!  I am so excited to be away from the other home and job that I just about can’t stand myself LOL   I knew I was unhappy where I was, but I didn’t really grasp the depth of how unhappy I was until I left.  I am so excited to be working from 6am – 2pm!  The duties involved in my new job will be a little different than what I am used to but I am looking forward to the change and the challenge!  I am also looking forward to a set schedule.  This means a more stable and routine existence for the kids and me.  The only downside  I see at the moment is the pay is a little less than what I was getting  BUT there is plenty of opportunities to make it up in overtime..so I guess it really isn’t that bad!  So..yay me! 🙂

So, being the responsible day worker that I am now, I put on boneless, skinless chicken breasts and cream of chicken soup in the crockpot to cook all day, just so I wouldn’t have to worry about supper tonight.  My plan had been to serve it over rice or mashed potatoes.  That is, until the kids informed me that they LIKE chicken and dumplin’s and that that is what they thought I had been cooking all day:(  (My childhood memories of chicken and dumplin’s is horrific at best and I had no idea my kids even liked them!) Being the super mom that I am, I quickly scoured the webz for a quick, easy, and (hopefully) delish dumplin’ recipe.  I was pleasantly surprised to see that Ree over at The Pioneer Woman had a recipe that sounded pretty good.   You can find that recipe here.  I modified it just a little bit.  Instead of using half and half, I used 3/4c. buttermilk and 3/4c. 2% milk and white cornmeal instead of yellow.    I then just dropped the dumplin’s in the crockpot and simmered on high for about 30  minutes.  It was so good the kids pretty  much just licked the crockpot clean LOL   I will warn you, though, the dumplin’s spread out during the cooking process so it is possible to make them pretty small and still have a decent sized dumplin’ when you are done.

This has probably been one of the best days I’ve had in a really long time:))

5 Responses to “A new job”


  1. 1 Bev
    October 28, 2011 at 8:35 am

    Yay! I’m so glad the new job is working out, and so glad that you’re happy! You deserve to be happy. 🙂

    Now I’m craving chicken & dumplings, too. Yum!

  2. 2 theworldaccordingtoasinglemom
    October 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Awww…thanks, Bev:) Try the chicken and dumplin’s! You will not be disappointed:)! Love the avatar, BTW!

  3. 3 Frank
    October 28, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I think I’ve only had dumplings once or twice, but I liked them!
    Maybe I should learn how to make them.

    Glad to hear that things are going well for you!

    • 4 theworldaccordingtoasinglemom
      October 28, 2011 at 9:09 pm

      The ones I made were easy peasy and very tasty…way different than the ones I had when I was a kid. Usually if the kids (read: Bubba) likes something enough to clean the pot, then it’s a winner:)

  4. 5 Randy
    November 14, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    My mom tricked us once by making dumplings out of flour tortillas instead of by scratch. We didn’t know the difference!!!


Leave a Reply

A BRAVE MAN IS A MAN WHO DARES TO LOOK THE DEVIL IN THE FACE AND TELL HIM HE IS A DEVIL-James A Garfield

Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, wine in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming 'WOO HOO what a ride!'

Archives

wordpress analytics

